Basket Workshops

  • Thursday, January 10, 2019 12 pm to 4 pm Small Market Basket Camp Gulf
  • Saturday, January 12, 2019 12 pm to 4 pm Pine Needle Basket Carol's Home
  • Tuesday, January 15, 2019 1 pm to 4 pm Pine Needle Basket Center for Lifelong Learning
  • Saturday, January 19, 2019 10 am to 3 pm Colorful Chasing Cobra Heritage Museum
  • Tuesday, January 22, 2019 1 pm to 4 pm Pine Needle Basket Center for Lifelong Learning
  • Thursday, January 24, 2019 12 pm to 4 pm Matchstick Border basket Camp Gulf
  • Saturday, January 26, 2019 12 pm to 4 pm Spirals in the Smoke Carol's Home
  • Tuesday, January 29, 2019 1 pm to 4 pm Pine Needle Basket Center for Lifelong Learning
  • Saturday, February 2, 2019 10 am to 3 pm Optical Illusion Heritage Museum
  • Tuesday, February 5, 2019 1 pm to 4 pm Pine Needle Basket Center for Lifelong Learning
  • Thursday, February 7, 2019 12 pm to 4 pm Checkered Bowl Camp Gulf
  • Friday, February 8, 2019 9 am to 1 pm Round and Round Basket Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Saturday, March 2, 2019 10 am to 2 pm Seagrass Birdhouse Bayou Arts Center
  • Saturday, March 9, 2019 10 am to 3 pm Twines and Overlays Heritage Museum
  • Friday, April 5, 2019 10 am to 3 pm Pine Needle Basket Heritage Museum
  • Saturday, April 6, 2019 10 am to 2 pm Arrows Easter Basket Bayou Arts Center
  • Saturday, April 20, 2019 10 am to 3 pm Double Wall Tall basket Heritage Museum
  • Friday, April 26, 2019 9 am to 1 pm Oopsy Daisy Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Saturday, May 11, 2019 9 am to 5 pm Demos Grand Boulevard in Sandestin
  • Sunday, May 12, 2019 9 am to 5 pm Demos Grand Boulevard in Sandestin
  • Saturday, May 18, 2019 10 am to 3 pm Up or Down Arrows Heritage Museum
  • Friday, June 7, 2019 9 am to 1 pm Butterfly Wing Basket Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Saturday, June 8, 2019 10 am to 3 pm Sorrento Basket Heritage Museum
  • Saturday, July 20, 2019 10 am to 3 pm Square Twill Bowl Heritage Museum
  • Friday, August 9, 2019 9 am to 1 pm Spaced Out Fruit Bowl Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Saturday, August 17, 2019 10 am to 3 pm Round Reed Wall Basket Heritage Museum
  • Saturday, September 14, 2019 10 am to 3 pm Beauty of Autumn Heritage Museum
  • Friday, October 4, 2019 10 am to 3 pm Pine Needle Basket Heritage Museum
  • Friday, October 11, 2019 9 am to 1 pm Spaced Out Fruit Bowl Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Saturday, October 19, 2019 10 am to 3 pm Harvest Time Centerpiece Heritage Museum
  • Saturday, November 9, 2019 10 am to 3 pm Revised Cathead Heritage Museum
  • Friday, December 13, 2019 9 am to 1 pm TBA Topsail Hill Preserve State Park

Watercolor Classes

  • Thursday, January 3, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Camp Gulf
  • Wednesday, January 9, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm A Simple Faith
  • Friday, January 11, 2019 9 am to 12 pm Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Tuesday, January 15, 2019 8:30am to 11:45am Center for Lifelong Learning
  • Wednesday, January 16, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm A Simple Faith
  • Thursday, January 17, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Camp Gulf
  • Friday, January 18, 2019 10 am to 1 pm Heritage Museum
  • Tuesday, January 22, 2019 8:30am to 11:45am Center for Lifelong Learning
  • Wednesday, January 23, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm A Simple Faith
  • Tuesday, January 29, 2019 8:30am to 11:45am Center for Lifelong Learning
  • Wednesday, January 30, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Thursday, January 31, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Camp Gulf
  • Tuesday, February 5, 2019 8:30am to 11:45am Center for Lifelong Learning
  • Wednesday, February 6, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, February 27, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm A Simple Faith
  • Thursday, February 28, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Camp Gulf
  • Wednesday, March 6, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm A Simple Faith
  • Friday, March 8, 2019 9 am to 12 pm Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Wednesday, March 13, 2019 9 am to 12 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, March 20, 2019 9 am to 12 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Saturday, March 23, 2019 10 am to 1 pm Heritage Museum
  • Wednesday, March 27, 2019 9 am to 12 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, April 3, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, April 10, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, April 17, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, April 24, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, May 1, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, May 8, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, May 15, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Thursday, May 16, 2019 9 am to 12 pm Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Wednesday, May 22, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Friday, July 12, 2019 9 am to 12 pm Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Wednesday, September 11, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Friday, September 13, 2019 9 am to 12 pm Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Wednesday, September 18, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Friday, September 20, 2019 10 am to 1 pm Heritage Museum
  • Wednesday, September 25, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, October 2, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, October 9, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, October 16, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, October 23, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, October 30, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, November 6, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Friday, November 8, 2019 9 am to 12 pm Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Wednesday, November 13, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Saturday, November 16, 2019 10 am to 1 pm Heritage Museum
  • Wednesday, November 20, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, December 4, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, December 11, 2019 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center

Locations

  • Bayou Arts Center contact Lee Greene at 850-622-5970. $30 members/$35 not-yet members.
  • Heritage Museum in Valparaiso, call Kyra Kile to register at 850-678-2615.
  • Topsail Hill Preserve State Park at the west end of 30-A in Santa Rosa Beach - $35. Reserve online at topsailparkfriends.org or in person at the Camp Store 8am to 5pm seven days a week. Parking is free. Note: May 27 - Sept 5 admission to Topsail Hill Preserve State Park is FREE courtesy of a partnership between the park and the Walton County TDC.
  • Camp Gulf contact me for information. Carol Dickson 850-622-0209 or 850-368-3739 or email me at cdbasketlady@yahoo.com
  • Carol's Home contact me for information. Carol Dickson 850-622-0209 or 850-368-3739 or email me at cdbasketlady@yahoo.com
  • A Simple Faith Old Blue Mountain Beach Rd, Santa Rosa Beach, FL - contact Carol Dickson 850-622-0209 or 850-368-3739 or email me at cdbasketlady@yahoo.com
  • Center for Lifelong Learning University of West Florida - contact the office of CLL by e-mail at cll@uwf.edu, or call the CLL office at 850-863-6548
Thank you for visiting my website! I call myself the Watercolor Weaver to incorporate my two passions, painting and basket weaving. I learned to weave baskets 25 years ago, in 1983, when we lived in North Carolina and loved basket weaving after my first basket was woven. It was one of those things that turned a hobby into a business for me and I enjoyed every minute. My greatest joy is teaching basket weaving to others and seeing the delight on their faces when they complete a basket in a few hours.

It was 22 years after weaving my first basket that I took my first watercolor painting class. Again, I was hooked at the completion of my first painting. It was difficult sleeping at night because there were so many ideas running through my head for paintings and basket styles.

My husband, Rob, and I live in Santa Rosa Beach, Florida and everywhere we look there is a painting in the making. The beach, the water, the birds and the people lend themselves to a successful outcome. Some of my baskets are embellished with shells, driftwood, seagrass and other natural materials found in the area. Some of my favorite paintings are of the beach. The white sand and the emerald green water are truly beautiful.

Most of my baskets are original designs coming from requests of those looking for the perfect basket for the perfect spot, or one of those designs I have in my head when I should be sleeping! I love to design a basket that will match a person’s décor or an Easter basket keepsake for that special child or grandchild.

If you receive a wedding invitation in the mail and are looking for a special gift for the special couple, I would love to paint a scene on the invitation that can be framed and given back as a keepsake. So many newlyweds have said that their painted invitation was the most special gift they received. Take a look at some of the painted invitations on my website. My original watercolor paintings are available framed or unframed. Prints are also available.

Classes in basket weaving and watercolor painting are available for individuals or groups and we have a great time!

Enjoy taking a look at what is available and have fun shopping!

Americana
This basket is decorative for any patriotic celebration. Can be used for flowers, holding mini...
$30.00
Go To This Product's Detailed Information
Between the Dunes
11" x 14"  Original watercolor with mat 
starting at $2.00
Go To This Product's Detailed Information
The Beach Chair
11" x 14"  Original watercolor with mat  Also available in custom school colors. Please...
starting at $2.00
Go To This Product's Detailed Information

Pine Needle Vase
Vase shaped pine needle basket with an extended tall rim.  Embellished with a philodendron sheath...
$65.00
Go To This Product's Detailed Information
Large Tote
This basket is large and can carry towels, magazines, sunscreen and drinks and snacks to the beach....
$45.00
Go To This Product's Detailed Information
Painted Wedding Invitation
A unique wedding gift for any bride and groom.   You will be asked to send Carol an original...
$55.00
Go To This Product's Detailed Information