Basket Workshops

  • Saturday, April 29, 2017 10 am to 2 pm Pine Needle Basket Bayou Arts Center
  • Saturday, May 6, 2017 10 am to 2 pm *Follow up for pine needle basket Bayou Arts Center
  • Friday, May 12, 2017 10 am to 2 pm Arts Quest Demonstrations Grand Boulevard in Sandestin
  • Friday, June 2, 2017 10 am to 3 pm Multi-Use w/lid Heritage Museum
  • Friday, June 16, 2017 10 am to 2 pm Pine Needle Heritage Museum
  • Saturday, June 17, 2017 12 noon to 3 pm Kid's basket class Heritage Museum
  • Friday, June 23, 2017 10 am to 2 pm *Follow up for pine needle basket Heritage Museum
  • Friday, July 7, 2017 9 am to 1 pm Apple Pickin' Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Saturday, July 8, 2017 12 noon to 3 pm Kid's basket class Heritage Museum
  • Saturday, July 29, 2017 10 am to 2 pm Casserole basket Bayou Arts Center
  • Saturday, August 19, 2017 10 am to 3 pm Corner Keeper Heritage Museum
  • Saturday, August 26, 2017 10 am to 2 pm Wastebasket Bayou Arts Center
  • Saturday, October 14, 2017 10 am to 3 pm Braided Basket Heritage Museum
  • Friday, December 1, 2017 10 am to 3 pm Wine Basket Heritage Museum

Watercolor Classes

  • Wednesday, April 19, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, April 26, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, May 3, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Friday, May 5, 2017 10 am to 1 pm Heritage Museum
  • Wednesday, May 10, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Friday, June 9, 2017 9 am to 12 pm Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Wednesday, June 21, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Friday, August 4, 2017 9 am to 12 pm Topsail Hill Preserve State Park
  • Wednesday, August 16, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, September 6, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, September 13, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, September 20, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, September 27, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, October 4, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, October 11, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, October 18, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center
  • Wednesday, October 25, 2017 12:30 pm to 3:30 pm Bayou Arts Center

Locations

  • Bayou Arts Center contact Lee Greene at 850-622-5970. $30 members/$35 not-yet members.
  • Heritage Museum in Valparaiso, call Kyra Kile to register at 850-678-2615.
  • Topsail Hill Preserve State Park at the west end of 30-A in Santa Rosa Beach - $35. Reserve online at topsailparkfriends.org or in person at the Camp Store 8am to 5pm seven days a week. Parking is free. Note: May 27 - Sept 5 admission to Topsail Hill Preserve State Park is FREE courtesy of a partnership between the park and the Walton County TDC.
Thank you for visiting my website! I call myself the Watercolor Weaver to incorporate my two passions, painting and basket weaving. I learned to weave baskets 25 years ago, in 1983, when we lived in North Carolina and loved basket weaving after my first basket was woven. It was one of those things that turned a hobby into a business for me and I enjoyed every minute. My greatest joy is teaching basket weaving to others and seeing the delight on their faces when they complete a basket in a few hours.

It was 22 years after weaving my first basket that I took my first watercolor painting class. Again, I was hooked at the completion of my first painting. It was difficult sleeping at night because there were so many ideas running through my head for paintings and basket styles.

My husband, Rob, and I live in Santa Rosa Beach, Florida and everywhere we look there is a painting in the making. The beach, the water, the birds and the people lend themselves to a successful outcome. Some of my baskets are embellished with shells, driftwood, seagrass and other natural materials found in the area. Some of my favorite paintings are of the beach. The white sand and the emerald green water are truly beautiful.

Most of my baskets are original designs coming from requests of those looking for the perfect basket for the perfect spot, or one of those designs I have in my head when I should be sleeping! I love to design a basket that will match a person’s décor or an Easter basket keepsake for that special child or grandchild.

If you receive a wedding invitation in the mail and are looking for a special gift for the special couple, I would love to paint a scene on the invitation that can be framed and given back as a keepsake. So many newlyweds have said that their painted invitation was the most special gift they received. Take a look at some of the painted invitations on my website. My original watercolor paintings are available framed or unframed. Prints are also available.

Classes in basket weaving and watercolor painting are available for individuals or groups and we have a great time!

Enjoy taking a look at what is available and have fun shopping!

Americana
This basket is decorative for any patriotic celebration. Can be used for flowers, holding mini...
$30.00
Go To This Product's Detailed Information
Between the Dunes
11" x 14"  Original watercolor with mat 
starting at $2.00
Go To This Product's Detailed Information
The Beach Chair
11" x 14"  Original watercolor with mat  Also available in custom school colors. Please...
starting at $2.00
Go To This Product's Detailed Information

Pine Needle Vase
Vase shaped pine needle basket with an extended tall rim.  Embellished with a philodendron sheath...
$65.00
Go To This Product's Detailed Information
Large Tote
This basket is large and can carry towels, magazines, sunscreen and drinks and snacks to the beach....
$45.00
Go To This Product's Detailed Information
Painted Wedding Invitation
A unique wedding gift for any bride and groom.   You will be asked to send Carol an original...
$55.00
Go To This Product's Detailed Information